Me Before You Review.

A sorrowful tale of love and accidents, Jojo Moyes will make you cry, whether you like it or not.

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, 15507958close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

Louisa Clarke lives a dull, average life. She’s in her twenties, lives with her parents in their small family home, and ha never traveled farther than beyond the confines of her towns limits.

“I will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.”

She suddenly loses her job, and in desperation, takes a caretaker job to a newly quadriplegic man, former Master of the Universe, Will Traynor. An accident has left him paralysed and unhappy with his life. He now lives in an apartment in his parents backyard, and is not speaking to anyone he knew before the accident.

Louisa’s only job is to keep him company and entertained, easy enough, until she meets him, and he wants absolutely nothing to do with her. Her gameplan? Do the bare minimum to keep her new job. Instead, she ends up befriending him, and quickly has feelings for the man who doesn’t want a relationship.

“Some mistakes… Just have greater consequences than others. But you don’t have to let the result of one mistake be the thing that defines you. You, Clark, have the choice not to let that happen.”

I had very high hopes for this book. It seemed great, and then I read it. Don’t get me wrong, it had it’s nice moments, I laughed sometimes. It was just too dreary for me. Both Louisa nor Will are not exciting characters. Their lives were ordinary, and this didn’t feel like the escape that reading should provide. Instead, it felt like a chore, and I believe the only reason I finished this in a timely manner was that I had it on audiobook.

Overall.

Jojo Moyes’s sad novel about the power of love and friendship sadly falls flat, just like the ending of this novel. Will and Louisa are powerful examples of selfish, stubborn, unrelateable characters. I give this book a 2 out of 5 stars and would not recommend unless you like sappy, sad, unfulfilling books.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s