Outlander Review.

Romance, danger, and mystery abound, this book will have you sweating, in more ways than one.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon Review On 802 Book Review.The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Claire Randall, the main heroine of the novel, is originally from England, 1945. The story opens with Claire and her husband, Frank, on there second honeymoon in the Scottish Highlands. One day, they see a group of women dancing inside a circle of stones. The next day, Claire goes back to the stone circle, as she is a budding botanist, to go and pick up some plants she saw there. She is soon transported to the year 1743, and surrounded by men in kilts and red coats fighting. Not just fighting, but old school fighting, with axes and other close range weapons. She is captured by a group of burly men in kilts, and is forced to save one of there young companions, a Mr. James Fraser. She is swept up with this new crowd as their hostage, thus their story begins.

“Don’t be afraid. There’s the two of us now.”

Diana Gabaldon weaves a miraculous tale of chivalry, true love, tough times, and heartwarming moments in her debut novel, Outlander. This book has officially earned a spot as one of my all-time favorite books. It took me very long to read, but I flew through it once I picked it up again last week. I stayed up way to late finishing this bad boy up, and I can’t bring myself to regret the sleep I lost, no way. I loved many things about this book, the world, the plotline, the twists and turns, I pretty much loved the whole thing. What really sealed the deal for me was the characters.

The world, I had never been super interested in Scotland before, but I am now! The story takes place in 1743, in the Scottish Highlands. I always wished that I had been born in an earlier time period, I love how people dress, how people act, how they live, everything about the older time periods, like this one. It’s romantic, it’s beautiful, and Diana did not let me down on this front. She brought the old time-y feel, without reminding me of all the not-so-great aspects of this time period, like the lack of running water, and indoor plumbing. She nailed all the fabulous aspects of this world, this Jacobitism Scotland. The time period is really well written.

“Oh, aye, Sassenach. I am your master . . . and you’re mine. Seems I canna possess your soul without losing my own.”

The plot is another big point for me. Let me tell you, this book is massive. It’s 623 pages, with small print and thin pages. A lot happened in this novel. I loved how long and drawn out it was. We got to see exciting and fast-paced times, as well as happy and slow times. The pace of the book was really nice as well, it never moved to fast or too slow.

Now, onto my favorite part, the characters. I have a clear favorite here, and if you’ve heard anything about the book, or seen the TV show, I think you know already who my favorite is, a Mr. Jamie Fraser. I mean, don’t get me wrong, Claire is pretty great. She’s a kick-butt combat nurse during World War II, so she really knows her stuff.  Jamie is great for so many reasons, but most of all, he exemplifies chivalry. He tries to do right by Claire at all times. He’s funny, handsome, and he’s willing to duke it out for his friends and family, the man is practically fearless. He is goodness personified, and that is why he is my favorite and really just makes this story, it would not even be close to as good as it is if Jamie wasn’t in it.

Overall

This is a great book, and one of my new all-time favorites. Read it if you want to have an awesome time! I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars, and I will definitely be continuing on in the series.

Leave a Reply

