Red Queen Review.

Secrets, lies, and revenge abundant in this debut novel by Victoria Aveyard.

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Red QueenSilvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

I finished this book on the last day of school, which was Monday. I feel a little late in this book, I mean it came out in February, and absolutely everybody was talking about it.

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

Just, let me pick up the pieces of my brain before I talk about this book, because, yeah, this plot twist was killer.

I first heard about this book when I started doing research for my first Top Ten Tuesday, on March 31st. I was pretty excited about it, and I finally picked this book up. I was not very into this book when I first picked it up, but I still really liked it.

I felt like it was a little slow at the beginning, but it definitely picked up. What I liked about this book so much was the characters, and the character types, like the Silvers and the Reds. The plotline also felt really original, which I think is pretty hard to do, in anything, really. What was kind of strange, though, was that this book was very hard to define as either being dystopian, or fantasy. It felt very much like our world, but it was not our world. There were cars, television, cameras, elevators. It also had strong elements of fantasy, things like the palace, the slums, the Silvers different abilities, things like that. It feels like it could be in the future, what with the new world, the rebellion, and the monarchy. I would definitely say that this would be a fantasy novel, just because the book is based off of the differences between the Silvers and the Reds, and the tensions that it causes.

I give this book a four out of five stars. Can I just talk about the ending? The plot twist was hella dope. It was amazing, I kind of saw it coming, but was unsure. That’s what bumped this book up to a 4 out of 5 stars instead of a 3 out of 5 stars. Why it only got a 4 out of 5 stars was that there was a minimal amount of romance, I mean, I liked that aspect of it, because that allowed for the book to focus a little bit more on the other things going on, and it was there, it just was not as prominent as I would have preferred.

Overall.

This was a really good book and I would definitely recommend that you pick this up! Well, that’s my two cents on Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. This book would be good for anyone who enjoys dystopian, or fantasy, because it has very strong elements of both! You can pick it up in stores today, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you have a great rest-of-your-day! I’ll see you back here soon.

Leave a Reply

