The Heir Review.

Keira Cass’s newest installment in her Selection series will keep you turning the pages until you get to the very end.
The Heir

Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story. But as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she always thought.

Can you even believe that she’s continuing the series? I was so excited that I actually pre-ordered this book on Amazon!

I did not even know that this book was coming out until I did research for the March 31st Top Ten Tuesday, and I was pretty excited. This book begins roughly about 20 years after Maxon and America get married. Their eldest child, Eadlyn is eighteen. There is some unrest in the nation of Illéa, so Maxon and America decide that their needs to be another Selection to give the country something to look forward to and focus on. Eadlyn is not so pleased with this idea, she doesn’t even really want to get married at all.

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.”

Eadlyn’s unwillingness to become attached to anyone is very frustrating in a book about someone finding a husband. I, personally, did not like Eadlyn very much, I found her to be quite bratty and acting like a child pretty much all the time. I definitely don’t think that she could ever be Queen because of how she acted during the whole ordeal.

Something that I did like very much were the male roles. They were very well written. The Selected boys were fabulous, and my favorites.They made the book for me, and I think for a lot of people. Some of the boys were very sweet, and they really frustrated Eadlyn, which I kind of enjoyed. They brought a new challenge, hilarity, and a sweetness that was just missing before they came. I also like the other members of the royal family, Maxon, America, Ahren, Kaden, and Osten.

I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars. I give it a three because I did not enjoy the main character, Eadlyn, which is pretty important. I will, however, read the rest of the series, because I really like the story line, and the rest of the characters, and I am looking forward to seeing how this all plays out and who she ends up picking!

Leave a Reply

